The Isle of Sheppey Race  
Kingsferry Bridge
arrow Home
Course Map
Past Winners
Video Clips
Press Cuttings
How to get here

Please note:
Since July 2014, this is an independent page promoting the race and no longer officially associated with the organising committee.

45th IOS Round the Island Race

(2016 entry form pending) | 2015 Entry Form

Course & road map | Safety advice
  • A 40-mile clockwise circumnavigation of the Isle Of Sheppey
    in Kent organised by IOS Sailing Club
  • Open to all classes of dinghy, catamaran & sailboard
  • Sea, river & estuary sailing with tidal conditions
  • Established since 1959 as an endurance event
  • Every competitor successfully completing the course receives a circumnavigation certificate signed by the Commodore
  • In popular years 200-300 competitors have taken part
  • Please scroll down for full race details, start times, etc.


IOS Round the Island Race is a long established, long distance event designed to test the sailing skills and endurance over a 40-mile course. Sailed clockwise around the island, starting and finishing at IOS Sailing Club, the race includes tidal sea, river & estuary sailing.

The event is the longest dinghy and board race in Europe — it should not be confused with so-called 24 hour races, which allow for a change of helm and crew.

The race is open to all classes of dinghy, catamaran and sailboard but any dinghy or catamaran that does not have an RYA Portsmouth Yardstick number should make contact with the IOS Sailing Club before the day of the event.


Island Map The race starts and finishes at Sheerness and is a clockwise circumnavigation of the island. Firstly by sea to Leysdown and around the NE tip of the Island, Shellness, and then into the Swale estuary. The Swale gradually narrows into the river, with the lifting road bridge at Kingsferry acting as an obstacle at its narrowest point. Larger dinghies and multihulls have to be stopped, heeled over and walked under the inner span of the bridge. The course continues up the Swale, through the ancient port of Queenborough and into the mouth of the Medway, before finally rounding Garrison Point to the open sea and the short distance back to the Club.

Course records:

Multihull: 1hr 52mins Stuart Gummer/Ryan Crawford
(Hobie Wild Cat), 2010
Monohull: 2hrs 17mins Neil Ashby/Sam Proctor
(RS800), 2010
Sailboard: 2hrs 42mins David Clay, 2010

Typical passage times are 3 - 10 hours.


Every boat should be capable of completing the course in whatever conditions are encountered. Particular note should be made of the possibility of being reliant upon your own resources for a protracted period, even returning after dark or in fog.

All boats buoyancy arrangements must be in thoroughly efficient working order. Safety boats are instructed that, if necessary, crews are to taken off, and boats left to be towed in later. It is therefore suggested that all boats carry an anchor.

Race Info 2016
Date Saturday 3rd September 2016

(Reserve: Sunday 4th September 2016)
Entry fee £30 before the day
£35 on the day
Registration From 8.00am inside the clubhouse. All competitors must register on race day.
Briefing 09.00 inside the clubhouse
Start times 10.00 - Monohulls PY > 1119
10.00 - Sailboards
  10.30 - Monohulls PY 1031 to 1119 inclusive
  11.00 - Monohulls PY < 1031 /
11.30 - Multihulls PY > 899
  11.30 - Multihulls PY < 900
Time limit 19.30 hrs to be included in the results.
Tides (BST) HW - 14:46 (5.87m)
LW - 08:38 (0.87m)

Perpetual Trophies and Prizes
Returned to the club annually
Parker Cup
  First overall on PY
Times & Guardian Cup
Second overall on PY
Third Overall Cup
Third overall on PY
Bartling Line Honours Cup
First across the finishing line
Rush & Tomkins Cup
First monohull slow handicap
McGloin Challenge Cup
First monohull medium handicap
Napier Cup
  First monohull fast handicap
Thurston Challenge Cup
First multihull on SCHRS
Sailboard Shield
  First sailboard on elapsed time
Shadwell Basin Shield
  First female helm (dinghy/cat) on PY
Cannon Tool Hire Shield
  First singlehanded dinghy on PY
Youth Shield
First under 16 helm on PY
Ship on Shore
First IOSSC boat over the line
Abbott Salver
First IOSSC boat on PY
P&O Stena Line
Medway RAYNET Group
Sheppey Sea Cadets
Sittingbourne & Milton Scouts
Designbell Web Design
Catamaran Yacht Club
Swale Divers
Ship on Shore PH

Congratulations to 2015 overall winner Mike Lyons (Blaze).

1985 saw a record entry of 300 competitors!

The slowest boat ever to complete the course was a Tinker Traveller inflatable dinghy, sailed by David Holden.

British Olympic sailor Hugh Styles took part in the '91 race, crewing a 420 for Simon Cory, finishing 12th overall.

The designer of the Catapult catamaran, Jon Montgomery also took part in the '91 race, finishing 3rd overall.

Malcolm Green was the first person to win the race in three consecutive years

Share this: