Isle Of Sheppey Round the Island Race  
Kingsferry Bridge
arrow Home
Notice of Race
Entry Form
Sailing Instructions
Course Map
Past Winners
Video Clips
Press Cuttings
How to get here

Please note:
The race is organised by IOS Sailing Club.

Enquiries: Dan Corpe - (01622) 662200.

60th IOS Round the Island Race - 8-9th September 2018

*** 2019 DATE confirmed: Weekend of 31st Aug/1st September 2019 (Island Race on 1st Sept 2019) ***

Congratulations to Chris Goymer & Paul Wiseman (Dart 18), overall winners of the 60th IOS Race and Andy Gibson winner of the David Clay Windsurfing Challenge.

  • Please note: the main race now takes place on SUNDAY, which is a change to previous years

  • A 40-mile clockwise circumnavigation of the Isle Of Sheppey
    in north Kent organised by IOS Sailing Club
  • The UK's longest annual dinghy, cat & board race!
  • Established since 1959 as an endurance event
  • Open to all classes of dinghy, catamaran & sailboard
  • Sea, river & estuary sailing with tidal conditions
  • In popular years 200-300 competitors have taken part
  • Every competitor successfully completing the course receives a circumnavigation certificate signed by the Commodore
  • SailRacer Live GPS Tracking
  • Part of the 2019 Allen Endurance Series

Race Sponsors:

2019 Race Weekend
Entry fee (includes entry to both events)

£40 postal entry before 1st August 2019
£50 after/on the weekend

Online entry will be available via the SailRacer website

31st August 2019
1st September 2019

Early Bird's Event

61st IOS Round the Island Race

Early bird's 'round the cans' handicap
racing off the front.

Open to Dinghies & cats only
Registration 10.00 - 13.00
Start time Not before 13.00
Format 3 short races back-to-back. Sailing Instructions available at registraton.
Tides (BST) HW - 14:06 (6.03m)
Social Bar open until late

Live band: 'Blues Brothers Little Brother'.

Open to Dinghies, catamarans & sailboards
Registration From 8.00 am inside the clubhouse.
Every competitor must register on race day.
Briefing 09.30 inside the clubhouse
Start times Penant 1 10.30 Monohulls
PY >= 1120
  Penant 2 11.00 Monohulls PY 1119 to 1030
  Penant 3 11.30 Monohulls
Slow Multis
PY < 1030
PY >= 900
  Penant 4 12.00 Fast Multis PY < 900
Time limit 19.30 hrs to be included in the results
Tides (BST) HW - 14:38 (6.14m)
LW - 08:50 (0.62m)


IOS Round the Island Race is a long established, long distance event designed to test sailing skills and endurance over a 40-mile course. Sailed clockwise around the island, starting and finishing at IOS Sailing Club, the race includes tidal sea, river & estuary sailing.

The event is the longest dinghy and board race in Europe — it should not be confused with so-called 24 hour races, which allow for a change of helm and crew.

The race is open to all classes of dinghy, catamaran and sailboard but any dinghy or catamaran that does not have an RYA Portsmouth Yardstick number should make contact with the IOS Sailing Club before the day of the event.


Island Map The race starts and finishes at Sheerness and is a clockwise circumnavigation of the island. Firstly by sea to Leysdown and around the NE tip of the Island, Shellness, and then into the Swale estuary. The Swale gradually narrows into the river, with the lifting road bridge at Kingsferry acting as an obstacle at its narrowest point. Larger dinghies and multihulls have to be stopped, heeled over and walked under the inner span of the bridge. The course continues up the Swale, through the ancient port of Queenborough and into the mouth of the Medway, before finally rounding Garrison Point to the open sea and the short distance back to the Club.

Course records:

Multihull: 1hr 52mins Stuart Gummer/Ryan Crawford
(Hobie Wild Cat), 2010
Monohull: 2hrs 17mins Neil Ashby/Sam Proctor
(RS800), 2010
Sailboard: 2hrs 34mins Andy Gibson, 2018

Typical passage times are 3 - 10 hours.


Every boat should be capable of completing the course in whatever conditions are encountered. Particular note should be made of the possibility of being reliant upon your own resources for a protracted period, even returning after dark or in fog.

All boats buoyancy arrangements must be in thoroughly efficient working order. Safety boats are instructed that, if necessary, crews are to taken off, and boats left to be towed in later. It is therefore advised that all boats carry an anchor.

Perpetual Trophies and Prizes
Returned to the sailing club annually
Parker Cup
  First overall on PY
Times & Guardian Cup
Second overall on PY
Third Overall Cup
Third overall on PY
Bartling Line Honours Cup
First across the finishing line
Rush & Tomkins Cup
First monohull slow handicap
McGloin Challenge Cup
First monohull medium handicap
Napier Cup
  First monohull fast handicap
Thurston Challenge Cup
First multihull on SCHRS
The David Clay Windsurfing Challenge
  First sailboard on elapsed time
Shadwell Basin Shield
  First female helm (dinghy/cat) on PY
Cannon Tool Hire Shield
  First singlehanded dinghy/cat on PY
Youth Shield
First under 16 helm on PY
Ship on Shore
First IOSSC boat over the line
Abbott Salver
First IOSSC boat on PY

Congratulations to Chris Goymer & Paul Wiseman (Dart 18), overall winners of the 60th IOS Race and Andy Gibson winner of the David Clay Windsurfing Challenge.

The fastest circumnavigation recorded was set by Stuart Gummer & Ryan Crawford sailing a Hobie Wild Cat in 2010 and took just 1 hour 52 minutes.

The slowest boat ever to complete the course was a Tinker Traveller inflatable dinghy, sailed by David Holden.

1985 saw a record entry of 300 competitors!

British Olympic sailor Hugh Styles took part in the '91 race, crewing a 420 for Simon Cory, finishing 12th overall.

The designer of the Catapult catamaran, Jon Montgomery also took part in the '91 race, finishing 3rd overall.

Malcolm Green was the first person to win the race in three consecutive years

Share this: